Legal Guide Consumer
Bought A Lemon, Now What?
All About California Lemon Law -
known as the Song-Beverly Consumer Warranty Act, the California
Lemon Law is there to protect the consumer. If you have found
yourself to be the owner of a lemon car, truck, RV,
the California Lemon Law will make sure that you get your purchase
replaced or refunded to you.
How do you know if you have a lemon?
The California Lemon Law states that any purchase more than $25.00
that is defective, unsafe, malfunctioning, or has an existing
problem that greatly reduces its value will qualify as a lemon.
California Lemon Law, you should notify the dealer/manufacturer
of the problem you are having with your vehicle. The dealer must
make four attempts to repair the lemon car during the first 18
months or 18,000 miles, whichever comes first.
Law also states that a vehicle that has been in for repairs four or
more times for the same defect, or if the car has been in the
dealer for repairs of the defect for a total of 30 calendar days,
then the vehicle should be presumed to be and classified as a
lemon car. If your vehicle has to be brought into the dealer two
times to repair a defect that could result in injury or death
if not repaired, that too is considered a lemon car under the
California Lemon Law.
The law also allows claims to be filed against manufacturers
if the car is over the 18 months/18,000 mile limit, if the car
is still under warranty. This covers the consumer who has a two
or a three-year-old vehicle that comes with an extended warranty.
This law also protects the consumer by allowing a time period
of four years after the defect is first noticed to bring a lemon
law claim against a manufacturer.
It is important that you get
legal advice from an attorney who is knowledgeable in California
Lemon Law. When you seek an attorney, it is best to hire one with
a history of only representing consumers, and never the manufacturer
in California lemon lawsuits.
Lemon Law not only protects the buyer of new cars and trucks,
but also the consumer who has purchased a used vehicle. If you
have purchased a lemon car and it is still under the new car warranty,
even if you are not the original owner, then you can file a claim
under the California Lemon Law.
If you think
that you have purchased a lemon car it is important that you keep
good documentation of all interactions and transactions in regards
to your lemon car. Write a letter to the manufacturer and send
it certified. Manufacturers are aware of the California Lemon
Law and most are more than willing to rectify the situation.
you are unhappy with the repair work done by the dealer, the manufacturer
may ask you to go through arbitration with a third party. If you
are still not satisfied, you can sue in court under the California
Lemon Law. You can also contact the Attorney
General's Office for the newest updates to the California
also see -> Lemon Laws in all 50 States
More about California lemon laws around the Web:
Better Business Bureau - California Lemon Law Information
California Car Owners Bill of Rights