The web, reviewed by humans since 1999.

sports navigation menu
Car Racing
Fantasy Baseball
Fantasy Basketball
Fantasy Football
Fantasy Hockey
Horse Racing
NHL Hockey
MLB All Star Game
MLB World Series
NHL Stanley Cup
SI Swimsuit Issue
Ski Resorts
Winter X Games
X Games
Sports Stars
WWE Wrestling

MAIN Arrow to Recreation Recreation Arrow to Sports Sports Arrow to Horse Racing Horse Racing Arrow to Preakness Preakness

Preakness Stakes - Saturday, May 20, 2017 -
"Riders Up!"

The Preakness traditionally features the top Kentucky Derby finishers competing in the run for the Black Eyed Susans. 11 horses in total are entered this year with ten competing against Derby winner Nyquist for the second jewel in the Triple Crown.

This year, Preakness post positions and morning line odds were announced from Pimlico on Wednesday, May 17, 2017 at 5PM ET. Kentucky Derby winner, Always Dreaming, leads the pack at 4-5 odds with a promise of a Triple Crown winner this year. He is followed by Classic Empire at 3-1, and Lookin at Lee at 10-1. Here's the complete lineup:

2017 Preakness post positions and morning line odds:

Horse Trainer Jockey ML Odds
1. Multiplier Brendan Walsh Joel Rosario 30-1
2. Cloud Computing Chad Brown Javier Castellano 12-1
3. Hence Steve Asmussen Florent Geroux 20-1
4. Always Dreaming Todd Pletcher John Velazquez 4-5
5. Classic Empire Mark Casse Julien Leparoux 3-1
6. Gunnevera Antonio Sano Mike Smith 15-1
7. Term of Art Doug O'Neill Jose Ortiz 30-1
8. Senior Investment Kenny McPeek Channing Hill 30-1
9. Lookin at Lee Steve Asmussen Corey Lanerie 10-1
10. Conquest Mo Money Miguel Hernandez Jorge Carreno 15-1


black eyed susan cocktail drinkThe 2017 Preakness Stakes will be the 142nd running of the historic race. As always, scene in Baltimore offers the same crazy hats and wild offtrack celebrations as the other two Triple Crown races. Preakness race day parties are the most popular way to celebrate the "Run For The Black Eyed Susans" (so named because the bright yellow blossom is the state flower of Maryland.) Not to mention that the Black Eyed Susan cocktail also happens to be the name of the signature drink of all Preakness celebrations.


How to Pick a Preakness Winner

The Preakness is a bit easier to handicap than the Kentucky Derby, but it's still a horse race. With some of the same colts that raced in the Derby in contention, the rest of the field may be unknown. Even so, in the Preakness every horse in the field is a champion. Most have competed successfully in other Stakes races, but never against the best three year olds in the racing world.

To chose the winner of this championship race, you need to know the pedigree of the horse and his past history in Stakes races. How the horse handles various track conditions can mean the difference between a win and an also-ran. Who trains and rides the colt is another fact that handicappers look at. The pros can also look back on patterns of past Preakness winners and use that knowledge to predict the outcome.

Do you think Kentucky Derby winners stand out in the Preakness? You bet! The horses that do well in the first leg of the triple crown typically perform well in the Preakness.

Doc's Sports provides this information, "Recent history has treated the Kentucky Derby winner very kindly in the Preakness. Six of the last 10 Derby winners have gone to the Belmont with a shot at the Triple Crown. All six of those horses - Silver Charm, Real Quiet, Charismatic, War Emblem, Funny Cide and Smarty Jones - have looked solid coming into the Preakness off impressive Derby wins, and all have met the lofty expectations at Pimlico."

The Preakness this year may have fewer Derby horses repeating, which adds a bit more suspense to the outcome. A large number of new horses may mean some unexpected challenges to the Derby veterans as the Preakness unfolds. A smaller Preakness field means more room for maneuvering through the pack and the shorter course may play an important part in the outcome.

About The Author... Editorial Staff

Sponsored Links

Sponsored Links

Privacy  |  Mission Statement  |  Contact us |  Sitemap

All contents copyright © 1999 - 2018