The Feel-Good Guide to Sports, Travel, Shopping & Entertainment

Main Sports Events Holidays & Observances Pop Culture Shopping Travel

MAIN Arrow to Recreation Recreation Arrow to Sports Sports Arrow to Football College Football Arrow to Heisman Trophy Heisman Trophy

It will be an early holiday celebration for college football fans when the 88th annual Heisman Trophy ceremony honored a new college football champion at the 2022 Heisman Ceremony.

Voting begin in November with the big four finalists announced on Monday, December 5, 2022 -- followed by the announcement of this year's Heisman Trophy winner, televised on ESPN live from New York City on Saturday, December 10, 2022 at 8PM ET.

2022 Heisman Trophy predictions

Although it's way too early to start predictions, 2021 Hiesman winner Bryce Young is going into his second season as an Alabama Crimson Tide quarterback in 2022 with a good chance to take the trophy for the second year running.

Other odds-on favorites include last year's also-ran Ohio State quarterback CJ Stroud. Also keep an eye on the up- and-coming USC quarterback Caleb Williams who moves from Oklahoma to Southern California this season.

Meanwhile, keep it here for updates as another Heisman Trophy season heats up in December. And, just up aheas, check out last year's big winner along with 2021 Top Ten voting results, Heisman Trophy history, fun facts, and related resources around the Web:.

2021 Heisman Trophy rewind

Heisman 2021 finalists
The popular favorite to win this year's Heisman Trophy did just that when Alabama quarterback Bryce Young (left)
took the honor at the 2021 ceremony, The remaining top four finalists consistently proved thier contention
for Heisman glory for most of the season and included Ohio State quarterback CJ Stroud;
Pittsburgh quarterback Kenny Pickett, and Michigan edge rusher Aidan Hutchinson.

2021 Heisman Trophy voting

1. Bryce Young, QB, Alabama: 2,311 points (684 first-place votes)
2. Aidan Hutchinson, DE, Michigan: 954 points (78 first-place votes)
3. Kenny Pickett, QB, Pittsburgh: 631 points (28 first-place votes)
4. C.J. Stroud, QB, Ohio State: 399 points (12 first-place votes)
5. Will Anderson Jr., LB, Alabama: 325 points (31 first-place votes)
6. Kenneth Walker III, RB, Michigan State: 245 points (18 first-place votes)
7. Matt Corral, QB, Ole Miss: 150 points (10 first-place votes)
8. Desmond Riddler, QB, Cincinnati: 81 points (5 first-place votes)
9. Jordan Davis, DT, Georgia: 75 points (9 first-place votes)
10. Breece Hall, RB, Iowa State: 17 points (0 first-place votes)

DID YOU KNOW? - Heisman Trophy trivia & fun facts

John Heisman
College football coach,
John W. Heisman.

• Awarding a talented college football player with the Heisman Trophy dates back to 1935 when its first recipient, University of Chicago running back Jay Berwanger, was awarded the inaugural Heisman Trophy.

• The Heisman Memorial Trophy is named in honor of college football coach John W. Heisman, athletic director of the New York Downtown Athletic Club.

• The cast bronze trophy is 13.5 inches tall and weighs 25 lbs. The model for the trophy was Ed Smith, a player for New York University in 1934.

• Today, there are a total of 928 ballots cast in the awarding of the Heisman Trophy. Most are cast by sports journalists located in six regions throughout the US -- along with former Heisman winners who are also eligible to vote.

• Famous African-American Heisman Trophy winners include Syracuse University halfback Ernie Davis who won 1961. He was followed by running back Mike Garrett who took home the Heisman in 1965. O.J. Simpson was the third in 1968.

• Archie Griffin became the only person to win twice with two consecutive awards in 1974 and 1975.

• Other notable recipients include Tim Tebow who was the only sophomore (2007); Johnny Manziel the only freshman (2012); and 19-year-old Jameis Winston who became the youngest player (2013) ever to win the Heisman Trophy.

More about the Heisman Trophy around the Web:

Just up ahead, check out more about the Heisman Trophy with related resources featuring the latest rumors, photos, video highlights, and a bit of Heisman history and trivia... - 2021 Heisman Trophy
- The official site featuring a complete profile & photos on recent award recipients, trophy & award history, statistics, and details on the Heisman awards dinner.

From the legendary to the little-known, Heisman history is never dull - ESPN feature and a good read on Heisman history from 1935 to the present with major highlights, winners, fun facts & Heisman trivia.

Privacy  |  Mission Statement  |  Contact us |  Sitemap

All contents copyright © 1999 - 2022