The Feel-Good Guide to Sports, Travel, Shopping & Entertainment

Main Sports Events Holidays & Observances Pop Culture Shopping Travel

MAIN Arrow to Hollywood Pop Culture Arrow to Latin Grammy Awards Latin Grammy Awards 2019

Latin grammy awards logoOne of the most highly anticipated music awards shows of the season, the Latin Grammys puts the spotlight center stage on the past year's most famous music artists -- in such categories as Pop, Salsa, and Tango including top awards for Song of the Year and Album of the Year.

This year, the landmark 20th edition of the Latin Grammy awards will be televised on Univision beginning at 8PM ET on Thursday, November 14, 2019 live from the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas.

Watch for Latin Grammy nominees to be announced on Tuesday, September 24, 2019.

Already announced is the recipient of this year's Latin Recording Academy Person Of The Year, which will be going to Colombian singer Juanes, a 23-time Latin Grammy winner.

Meanwhile, keep it here for the complete list of Latin Grammy nominees, along with who will host, and the announcement of big winners in November!

2019 Latin Grammy Awards rewind

calle 13
J Balvin led with a total of eight nods
at the 2018 Latin Grammy Awards.

Hosting the big night was Mexican actress Ana de la Reguera and singer Carlos Rivera.

Opening the 2018 Latin Grammy Awards was Marc Anthony, Bad Bunny & Will Smith with a live performance of “Está Rico“.

The performance lineup for the 2018 Latin Grammy Awards included Halsey, J Balvin, El David Aguilar, Jorge Drexler, Kany Garcia Mon Laferte, Natalia Lafourcade, Victor Manuelle, Banda Los Recoditos, Sebastián Yatra, Ángela Aguilar, Pablo Alborán, Karol G, and Carlos Vives.

More performers scheduled to appear include Carla Morrison, Pepe Aguilar, Anitta, Nicky Jam Featuring Steve Aoki, Calibre 50, Christian Nodal, Jenna Ortega, Ozuna, Laura Pausini, Monsieur Periné, Rosalía and Miguel Ángel Silvestre. Also watch for a special performance by this year's Latin Recording Person Of The Year, Maná.

A star-studded list of presenters at the 2018 Latin Grammy Awards inclueed Aitana, Miguel Bosé, Kane Brown, Pedro Capó, Luis Coronel, Wilson Cruz, El Dasa, Diplo, Dyango, Lali Espósito, Fonseca, Dillon Francis, Beatriz Luengo, Aymée Nuviola, Lele Pons, Maria Rita, Draco Rosa, Kelly Rowland, Rozalén, Raquel Sofía, Thalía, Willy William & Yuri

Just up ahead, check out all the 2018 nominees and WINNERS. And, around the Web, also check out Latin as well as the official Univision Network for lots more related video clips, star profiles, fun facts, and photos.

Sean Cosgrave is a frequent editorial contributor to

DID YOU KNOW? Latin Grammy fun facts & trivia

calle 13
Most wins ever: Calle 13

• In 2000, the first-ever Latin Grammy Awards ceremony aired on CBS to become the first Spanish program to be broadcast on an English-language American television network.

• Calle 13 holds the record for most wins, bringing home 25 Latin Grammy Awards. With a total of 20 awards, Juanes holds the record for most awards won by a solo artist.

• Shakira leads among female artists, winning 11 Latin Grammy Awards. She is also the youngest artist to have received the Person of the Year award.

• Christina Aguilera won Best Female Pop Vocal Album for “Mi Reflejo” in 2001 and made history by becoming the first ever American artist to win a Latin Grammy.

• Miguelito is the youngest person to win a Latin Grammy. He was 9 years-old when he won the Best Latin Children’s Album in 2008 for “El Heredero".

also see in Pop Culture -> Billboard Latin Music Awards


2018 Latin Grammy Nominees & * Winners

Album Of The Year
Prometo – Pablo Alborán
Vibras – J Balvin
Caravanas – Chico Buarque
Salvavidas De Hielo – Jorge Drexler
Siguiente – El David Aguilar
Soy Yo – Kany García
Musas (Un Homenaje Al Folclore Latinoamericano En Manos De Los Macorinos), Vol. 2 – Natalia Lafourcade
* ¡México Por Siempre! – Luis Miguel - WINNER
Encanto Tropical – Monsieur Periné
Cuando El Río Suena... – Rozalén

Record Of The Year
No Vaya A Ser – Pablo Alborán
É Fake (Homem Barato) – Anaadi
Mi Gente – J Balvin with Willy William
Internacionales – Bomba Estéreo
* Telefonía – Jorge Drexler - WINNER
Para Siempre – Kany García
X – Nicky Jam and J Balvin
Danza De Gardenias – Natalia Lafourcade Featuring Los Macorinos
Bailar Contigo – Monsieur Periné
Malamente – Rosalía

Song Of The Year - A Songwriter's Award
Antes De Ti – Manú Jalil and Mon Laferte, songwriters (Mon Laferte)
Bailar Contigo – Monsieur Periné, songwriters (Monsieur Periné)
Danza De Gardenias – David Aguilar Dorantes and Natalia Lafourcade, songwriters (Natalia Lafourcade Featuring Los Macorinos)
Embrujo – El David Aguilar, songwriter (El David Aguilar)
La Puerta Violeta – Rozalén, songwriter (Rozalén)
Malamente – Antón Alvarez Alfaro, Pablo Diaz-Reixa and Rosalía, songwriters (Rosalía)
Para Siempre – Kany García, songwriter (Kany García)
Robarte Un Beso – Mauricio Rengifo, Andrés Torres, Carlos Vives and Sebastián Yatra, songwriters (Carlos Vives & Sebastián Yatra)
* Telefonía – Jorge Drexler, songwriter (Jorge Drexler) - WINNER
Tu Vida Mi Vida – Fito Páez, songwriter (Fito Páez)

Best New Artist
Ángela Aguilar
El David Aguilar
Alex Ferreira
* Karol G - WINNER
Los Petitfellas
Nana Mendoza
Christian Nodal
Claudia Prieto
Benjamín Walker

Best Contemporary Pop Vocal Album
Ser – Axel
Camino Fuego Y Libertad – Pablo López
Cuerpo Y Alma – Beatriz Luengo
* F.A.M.E. – Maluma - WINNER
Miradas – Nana Mendoza

Best Urban Fusion / Performance
Mi Gente – J Balvin with Willy William Featuring Beyoncé
Internacionales – Bomba Estéreo
Yo Contra Ti – Daddy Yankee Featuring Orquesta Sinfónica De Puerto Rico
Sua Cara – Major Lazer Featuring Anitta and Pabllo Vittar
* Malamente – Rosalía - WINNER

Best Alternative Music Album
* Claroscura – Aterciopelados - WINNER
Puñal – Dante Spinetta
Fuerza Arará – Telmary
Mismo Sitio, Distinto Lugar – Vetusta Morla
Aztlan – Zoé

Best Regional Song - A Songwriter's Award

Arránquense Muchachos – Domingo Leiva Delgado, songwriter (Pedro Fernández)
Ayúdame A Olvidarte – Gabriel Flores and Yoel Henríquez, songwriters (La Explosiva Banda De Maza)
Corrido De Juanito – Edén Muñoz, songwriter (Calibre 50)
El Sueño Americano – Salvador Hurtado, songwriter (La Energía Norteña)
* Probablemente – Christian Nodal, songwriter (Christian Nodal) - WINNER

Best MPB (Música Popular Brasileira) Album
Mano Que Zuera – João Bosco
* Caravanas – Chico Buarque - WINNER
Edu, Dori E Marcos – Edu Lobo, Dori Caymmi e Marcos Valle
Campos Neutrais – Vitor Ramil
Deus É Mulher – Elza Soares


Sponsored Links

Privacy  |  Mission Statement  |  Contact us |  Sitemap

All contents copyright © 1999 - 2019